Scammers are successfully tricking WhatsApp users into paying a fake subscription fee to use the WhatsApp service.

Don’t pay up. You’ve been warned

WhatsApp about to start charging you from TODAY? Message sparks huge payment fear

WHATSAPP fans will soon be forced to pay to use the service, a message has claimed. However, before clicking on the subscription link users should be warned it’s a scam.

Scammers targets WhatsApp users

WhatsApp users are being targeted with a new message that claims they’ll soon be forced to pay 99p to continue to use the popular service. The fake text, which has been circulating this week, states, “Your subscription has expired. To verify your account and purchase a lifetime subscription for just 0.99 GBP simply tap on this link.”

The message is a hoax with WhatsApp users warned not to click on the link or pay the 99p charge.

WhatsApp is free to download and use, but used to charge a small subscription fee several years ago. However,  these fees were scrapped back in 2016. But people unfamiliar with the messaging app might not realise this.

That fee no longer exists

In a blog post, WhatsApp confirmed the service will remain free saying: “We’re happy to announce that WhatsApp will no longer charge subscription fees. “For many years, we’ve asked some people to pay a fee for using WhatsApp after their first year. “As we’ve grown, we’ve found that this approach hasn’t worked well.

This isn’t the first time WhatsApp users have been targeted by scammers.

Scammers targets WhatsApp users

Back in January, another WhatsApp hoax made users believe they were to start being charged 0.01p per message sent on through the app. Although a tiny figure in its own right, given a number of messages most of us send through WhatsApp, this would have been a figure that would quickly add up.

Last month WhatsApp users were targeted by a scam that tricked them into installing malicious software on their devices. The scam tricked users of the service by suggesting a range of new customisable colours were available to them.

Encouraging users to share the message with 12 friends to verify their accounts and activate the feature, the message then pushed users to download a Chrome plugin that made them vulnerable to nasty adware and hackers.